Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Blanket/Divertor


Future fusion power stations will be in competition with other energy sources. In this context, the blanket will play a key role as its thermal efficiency and power density will directly influence the station’s total efficiency and hence its economy. In the European Fusion Programme two lines are pursued: The HCPB (helium cooled pebble bed) and the HCLL (helium cooled lithium lead) concept. KIT has been concentrating on the HCPB concept for many years, but also contributes to the HCLL concept in the areas of magneto-hydrodynamic effects and coating of tubes for the reduction of tritium permeation.

Blanket

Isometric presentation of the HCPB-blanket

 

There are three functions the blanket has to fulfil: transformation of the neutron energy originating from the fusion reaction into usable heat, breeding of the fuel tritium by capture of neutrons in lithium and shielding of the superconducting magnets against neutron and gamma radiation. The blanket box is made of low activating ferritic-martensitic steel.

Blanket

Module of the HCPB-blanket

 

The inside of the box is subdivided by horizontal plates containing cooling channels. In between, there are pebble beds alternately consisting of breeding material and of the neutron multiplier beryllium. The bred tritium is extracted from the blanket by purging with helium in a closed loop. For the sequential cooling of the box, the grid structure and the breeding units, a multi-layered backwall is utilised as manifold. The outlet temperature of the cooling medium helium is about 500 °C corresponding to a thermal efficieny of about 40%.

Blanket Development for DEMO

The long-term targets are the conceptual development and the engineering design of a blanket for the demonstration power station DEMO and their integration into the reactor design to prove the realisability of the concept at an early point of time. In order to generate a design data base in co-operation with European research establishments, the current R & D activities are focused on experimental and theoretical investigations aiming at the characterization of breeding materials and beryllium, the investigation of the behaviour of pebble beds under thermal and radiation load as well as the development and testing of technologies for the fabrication of blanket modules.

Test-Blanket-Modul

Blanket Blanket

Integration of the test blanket moduls (TBM) in ITER

 

First functional tests will be performed in the experimental reactor ITER in order to investigate the reaction of the breeding test blanket module to the environment of a reactor-class machine like ITER, i.e. electro-magnetic and thermomechanic transients, as well as neutron and gamma radiation. Several test blanket modules (TBM) will be tested sequentially, each of them designed for specific investigations. In the framework of the EFDA Breeding Blanket Programme conceptual designs have been developed by KIT which will be followed by the engineering design including external cooling and tritium loops and the out-of-pile testing of system components in co-operation with European partners.

Divertor Development for DEMO

Blanket

Schematic cross section of the plasma vessel

 

The divertor is one of the components being exposed to the highest peak heat load in a fusion reactor. About 15% of the energy produced by fusion reactions must be removed through the divertor yielding a thermal peak load of up to 15 MW/m2, which constitutes a significant technical challenge. For reactors, helium is the preferred cooling medium because of its good compatibility with the blanket material and the possibility of high energy efficiency. In co-operation with other research establishments the development work concentrates on the selection and combination of suitable divertor materials, the design of modules allowing high heat transfer with helium cooling as well as analyses and experiments aimed at the validation of the above-mentioned design concepts. Three versions of inserts to be mounted in each divertor sub-module which enhance the heat transfer into the helium coolant are depicted in the figure. A divertor test module shall be tested in the second operation phase of ITER.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Blanket/Divertor


Zukünftige Fusionskraftwerke werden in Konkurrenz zu anderen Energietechnologien stehen. Das Blanket wird in diesem Zusammenhang eine entscheidende Rolle spielen, da seine thermische Effizienz und Leistungsdichte die Gesamtleistung des Reaktors und somit seine Wirtschaftlichkeit direkt beeinflussen. Im europäischen Fusionsprogramm werden zwei verschiedene Ansätze verfolgt: das HCPB- (helium cooled pebble bed) und das HCLL- (helium cooled lithium lead) Konzept. Das KIT konzentriert sich seit Jahren auf das HCPB-Konzept, darüber hinaus werden in den Bereichen magneto-hydrodynamische Effekte und Beschichtung von Rohren zur Verringerung der Tritiumpermeation und Korrosionsschutz auch Beiträge zum HCLL-Konzept geleistet.

HCPB-Blanket

Isometrische Darstellung des HCPB-Blankets

 

Das Blanket muss drei Funktionen erfüllen: Umwandlung der Neutronenenergie aus der Fusionsreaktion in nutzbare Wärme, Erbrüten des Brennstoffs Tritium durch das Einfangen von Neutronen in Lithium sowie die Abschirmung der supraleitenden Magnete gegen Neutronen- und Gammastrahlung. Die Blanket Box besteht aus niedrigaktivierendem ferritisch-martensitischem Stahl.

HCPB-Blanket

Modul des HCPB-Blankets

 

Das Innere der Blanket Box ist durch eine Gitterstruktur in Fächer mit quadratischem Grundriss (205 mm x 205 mm) unterteilt. Jedes dieser Fächer enthält eine Bruteinheit, in der Brutkeramik- und Berylliumbetten durch waagerechte Kühlplatten voneinander getrennt sind. Das erbrütete Tritium wird durch einen Spülgasstrom aus dem Blanket ausgetrieben. Für die sequentielle Kühlung von Box, Gitterstruktur und Bruteinheiten spielt die Rückwand eine zentrale Rolle, in der die Vernetzung aller Systeme erfolgt. Die Austrittstemperatur des Kühlmittels Helium beträgt rund 500° C, was einer thermischen Effizienz von rund 40% entspricht.

Blanket-Entwicklung für DEMO

Langfristige Ziele sind die konzeptionelle Entwicklung und die konstruktive Auslegung eines Blankets für den Demonstrationsleistungsreaktor DEMO. In Zusammenarbeit mit europäischen Forschungseinrichtungen wird eine Design-Datenbank erstellt. Neben konstruktiven Aufgaben konzentrieren sich die FuE-Aktivitäten auf experimentelle und theoretische Untersuchungen, um so die Eigenschaften der Brutmaterialien und von Beryllium zu bestimmen, das Verhalten der Schüttbetten unter thermischer Belastung und Strahlungsbelastung zu untersuchen sowie Technologien zur Herstellung der Blanket-Module zu entwickeln und zu erproben.

Test-Blanket-Modul

TBM TBM

Einbindung des Test Blanket Moduls (TBM) in ITER

 

Erste Funktionstests werden im Versuchsreaktor ITER durchgeführt, um die Reaktion des Blanketkonzepts auf magnetische und thermomechanische Transienten, Neutronen- und Gammastrahlung sowie sein integrales Verhalten unter ITER-relevanten Bedingungen zu untersuchen. Mehrere Test Blanket Module (TBM) sind der Reihe nach zu testen, wobei jedes für bestimmte Untersuchungen ausgelegt wird. Dazu wurden im Rahmen des Europäischen Breeding Blanket Programms vom KIT konzeptionelle Entwürfe des Test-Blanket-Moduls entwickelt. Dem schließt sich die ingenieurtechnische Auslegung des TBM-Systems einschließlich Port Plug und externer Kühl- und Tritiumkreisläufe sowie der out-of-pile Test der Systembauteile in Zusammenarbeit mit europäischen Partnern an.

Divertor-Entwicklung für DEMO

Divertorkassette

Schematische Darstellung der Plasmakammer mit der Divertorkassette

 

Der Divertor zählt zu den thermisch am höchsten belasteten Bauteilen im Fusionsreaktor. Rund 15% der bei einer Fusionsreaktion freigesetzten Energie müssen über ihn abgeführt werden, was zu einer thermischen Spitzenbelastung von bis zu 15 MW/m2 führt. Deshalb stellt der Divertor eine große technische Herausforderung dar. Helium ist das vorgesehene Kühlmittel, auch wegen seiner guten Verträglichkeit mit den Blanketmaterialien. Die Entwicklungsarbeiten konzentrieren sich auf die Auswahl und Kombination geeigneter Divertormaterialien, den belastungs- und fertigungsgerechten Entwurf des Divertors einschließlich der Auslegung von Hochleistungs-Wärmeübertragungsmodulen sowie Analysen und Experimente zur Überprüfung der Auslegungsrechungen. Die derzeit untersuchten Varianten der Prallplatte des Divertors sind in der Abbildung dargestellt. Es ist vorgesehen, ein Divertor-Testmodul in der zweiten Betriebsphase des ITER einzusetzen.