Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Nuclear Fusion Programme

Head of Programme and
Head of EUROfusion Research Unit (KIT)
Dr. Klaus Hesch

Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Tel.: +49 721 608-25461
E-Mail: infoKeg7∂fusion kit edu

Plasma Experiment
jet video

What happens during a plasma? Plasma physicist Melanie explains the process of running an experiment at the wold's most powerful fusion device JET.

Click here for the Video

What is Nuclear Fusion?

Fusion

(Picture Copyright ITER)

Nuclear fusion is the energy-providing process that has been taking place in the sun and stars for billions of years. Under extreme pressure conditions and temperature of about 15 million degrees, the atomic nuclei fuse together there in the so-called plasma. Since the pressure conditions of the sun cannot be realized on the Earth, the reactor temperature has to reach more than 100 million degrees to achieve the plasma state. In order to protect the surrounding reactor walls from the hot plasma, the plasma is confined by a very high magnetic.

In the future fusion power reactors, deuterium and tritium will be used as fusion fuels. The nucleus of heavy hydrogen deuterium fuses with the nucleus of the super heavy hydrogen tritium to helium - 4 nuclei, the so-called α-particles (two protons and two neutrons) decay through the emission of a neutron. 80% of the released energy is bound to the neutron, which escapes the magnetic field. In the blanket, the kinetic energy of the neutron will be transformed into heat, which will be subsequently converted via a conventional steam cycle into electricity.

Deuterium accounts for about 0.015% of all naturally occurring hydrogen in the oceans on Earth and therefore it is available in almost unlimited quantities. Naturally occurring tritium is extremely rare on Earth. Therefore, tritium should be produced in the reactor blanket, by the reaction of the neutrons with lithium. Lithium is approximately uniformly present in the Earth's crust, the total stock is estimated to be 100 million tons.

Fusion has many advantages, namely a practically limitless fuel supply, no production of long lived radioactive materials, no CO2 emission in reactor operation, and therefore no contribution to climate change. All these features make fusion energy a safe, sustainable and environmentally attractive source of energy for future electricity supply.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Programm Kernfusion

Programmsprecher
Head of EUROfusion Research Unit (KIT)
Dr. Klaus Hesch

Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Tel.: +49 721 608-25461
E-Mail: infoBqu3∂fusion kit edu

Classroom 2100
classroom

Eine Schulstunde in 2100 über die Grundlagen der Fusion. zum Video

Plasma Experiment
jet video

Was passiert wenn ein Plasma entsteht? Melanie, Plasmaphysikerin bei JET erklärt es. zum Video

Sonnenfeuer auf der Erde

Fusion

(Bild Copyright ITER)

Kernfusion ist ein energieliefernder Prozess, der seit Milliarden Jahren in der Sonne und in Sternen abläuft. Bei extremen Druckverhältnissen und ca. 15 Millionen Grad verschmelzen dort im sogenannten Plasma Atomkernen miteinander.  Da auf der Erde die Druckverhältnisse der Sonne nicht realisierbar sind, muss die Betriebstemperatur im Reaktor über 100 Millionen Grad betragen, um den Plasmazustand zu erreichen. Um die umgebende Reaktorwand vor dem heißen Plasma zu schützen, wird das Plasma durch ein sehr hohes Magnetfeld eingekapselt.   

In zukünftigen Fusionsleistungsreaktoren wird  Deuterium und Tritium als Fusionsbrennstoff zum Einsatz kommen. Der Kern des schweren Wasserstoffs Deuterium fusioniert mit dem Kern des überschweren Wasserstoffs Tritium zum Helium-4-Kern, dem sog. α-Teilchen (zwei Protonen, zwei Neutronen) unter Aussendung eines Neutrons. 80% der freiwerdenden Energie ist an das Neutron gebunden, das als neutrales Teilchen ungehindert das Magnetfeld durchdringen kann und im dahinterliegenden Blanket (funktionale Reaktorwand) abgebremst wird. Die dabei entstehende Wärme kann über einen konventionellen Dampfkreislauf in Elektrizität umgewandelt werden.

Deuterium ist zu ca. 0,015% im natürlichen Wasser enthalten und somit fast unbegrenzt verfügbar. Tritium wird im Blanket des Fusionsreaktors durch die Reaktion eines Neutrons mit Lithium hergestellt. Lithium ist etwa gleichmäßig in der Erdkruste vorhanden, der Gesamtvorrat wird auf 100 Millionen Tonnen geschätzt.

Fusion hat viele potenzielle Vorteile, unter anderem eine praktisch grenzenlose Brennstoffversorgung, keine Produktion von langlebigen radioaktiven Materialien, keine CO2-Emissionen im Betrieb, und deshalb klimaneutral. Alle diese Eigenschaften machen die Fusionsenergie zu einer sicheren, nachhaltigen und umweltfreundlichen attraktiven Energiequelle für die zukünftige Stromversorgung.