Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

ITER

ITER is an experimental fusion reactor according to the tokamak principle which for the first time will generate a plasma with power reactor-like properties over a longer time period (up to about 300 seconds). The investigations on plasma physics will focus on all aspects of a burning plasma which essentially is maintained by alpha-heating. Alpha heating means the transfer of kinetic energy of alpha particles originating from the fusion reaction to the plasma particles (electrons and ions).

ITER_2010

Furthermore, key technologies for a fusion power station (plasma heating, super-conducting magnets, plasma facing components, fuel cycle and remote handling) will be tested under power reactor-like conditions. ITER is also capable to perform first tests of blanket concepts by suitable test modules.

Fusion power 500 MW
Q = fusion power / heating power (without alpha heating) ≥ 10
Average neutron wall load 0,57 MW/m2
Plasma pulse time <= 300 seconds
Plasma current (induced by transformer) 15 MA
Plasma Volume 837 m3
Installed external heating 73 MW
Toroidal magnetic field 5.3 Tesla


ITER will be realized in co-operation of the European Union, Japan, the Russian Ferderation, USA, People’s Republic of China, South Korea, and India at the site of Cadarache, Southern France. The construction time will be about 8 years, after an operation time period of 10 years results are expected which make it possible to construct a prototype power reactor.

  • For technical design and construction of big complex components for ITER industrial companies from 7 European countries have founded the interest group EFET (European Fusion Engineering and Technology) German industrial companies and BDI (umbrella organization of German industry) have founded the Deutsche ITER-Industrie-Forum e.V. on March 8, 2007 at Karlsruhe.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

ITER

ITER ist ein experimenteller Fusionsreaktor nach dem Tokamak-Prinzip, in dem erstmals ein Plasma mit Leistungsreaktoreigenschaften über einen längeren Zeitraum (bis ca. 300 Sekunden) erzeugt werden wird. Die plasmaphysikalischen Untersuchungen werden sich auf alle Aspekte eines brennenden Plasmas konzentrieren, das im wesentlichen durch alpha-Heizung aufrecht erhalten wird. Alpha-Heizung ist die Übertragung von kinetischer Energie der aus der Fusionsreaktion entstehenden alpha-Teilchen (Heliumkerne) auf Plasmateilchen (Elektronen und Ionen).

ITER_2010 

Weiterhin werden mittels ITER Schlüsseltechnologien für ein Fusionskraftwerk (Plasmaheizung, Supraleitungsmagnete, plasmanahe Komponenten, Brennstoffkreislauf und Fernhantierungstechnik) unter reaktorähnlichen Bedingungen erprobt. Darüber hinaus ist ITER geeignet, Blanketkonzepte ersten Tests mittels geeigneter Testeinsätze zu unterziehen.

Wesentliche Auslegungsparameter von ITER sind:

Fusionsleistung 500 MW
Q = Fusionsleistung / Heizleistung (ohne alpha-Heizung) ≥ 10
Mittlere Neutronenbelastung der Wände 0,57 MW/m2
Brenndauer des Plasmas ≥ 300 Sekunden
Plasmastrom (durch Transformator induziert) 15 MA
Plasmavolumen 837 m3
Installierte externe Heizung 73 MW
Toroidales Magnetfeld 5,3 Tesla


ITER wird in weltweiter Zusammenarbeit unter Beteiligung der Europäischen Union, Japans, der Russischen Föderation, der USA, der Volksrepublik China, von Südkorea und von Indien am Standort Cadarache in Südfrankreich realisiert werden. Die Bauzeit beträgt ca. 8 Jahre, nach 10 Jahren Betrieb werden Ergebnisse erwartet, die den Bau eines Demonstrationsreaktors ermöglichen.

  • Für Konstruktion und Bau großer komplexer Komponenten für ITER haben sich Industriefirmen aus europäischen Ländern zur Interessengruppe EFET (European Fusion Engineering and Technology) zusammengeschlossen. Deutsche Industriefirmen und der BDI haben am 8. Mai 2007 in Karlsruhe das Deutsche ITER-Industrie-Forum e.V. gegründet.