Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Nuclear Fusion Programme

programme speaker
Dr. Klaus Hesch

Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Tel.: +49 721 608-25461
E-Mail: infoDbz2∂fusion kit edu

Fusion summer school at KIT
Summer School 2012

Next Karlsruhe International School on Fusion Technologies
08 - 19 September 2014
apply now

The Nuclear Fusion Programme at a Glance

The Nuclear Fusion Programme bundles the activities of KIT, which are related to the development of technologies for a fusion reactor. Fusion energy is associated with the wish to supply a safe and environmentally compatible source of energy that decisively contributes to covering the electricity consumption of mankind for several centuries.

Under the Nuclear Fusion Programme, major systems and components for ITER are developed and tested. ITER (lat. the way) is the next step towards a fusion power plant. Moreover, basic preliminary work is accomplished for the demo reactor that will succeed ITER, e.g. the development of suitable materials and systems for energy decoupling.

Work of the Nuclear Fusion Programme is incorporated in the 7th framework programme of the European Union, research area "Energy, Environment, and Sustainable Development - EURATOM". The programme is executed within the framework of "Fusion for Energy“ (European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy) and of “EFDA“ (European Fusion Development Agreement) with research institutions from many European countries being involved.

NEWS

ITER
The ITER test reactor

ITER is an international project that will demonstrate the technical use of fusion (Picture Copyright ITER).
news about the ongoing construction

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Programm Kernfusion

Programmsprecher
Dr. Klaus Hesch

Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Tel.: +49 721 608-25461
E-Mail: infoQsv3∂fusion kit edu

Fusion Summer School im KIT
summerschool

Die 8. Karlsruhe International School on Fusion Technologies findet von
08.-19. September 2014 statt. Jetzt bewerben

Das Programm Kernfusion auf einen Blick

Seit Milliarden von Jahren lässt Kernfusion die Sonne und andere Sterne leuchten. Seit Jahrzehnten arbeiten die Menschen daran, dieses kosmische Feuer auf die Erde zu holen. Wenn es gelingt, die Kernfusion als Energiequelle zu nutzen, kann die wachsende Weltbevölkerung für Tausende von Jahren mit Strom und Wärme versorgt werden – wirtschaftlich, sicher und umweltverträglich mit Brennstoffen aus Wasser und Gestein.

Der momentan im Bau befindliche Testreaktor ITER (lat. der Weg), der durch Zusammenarbeit aller großen Fusionsprogramme der Welt – Europa, Japan, der USA, der russischen Föderation sowie China, Süd-Korea und Indien – realisiert wird, soll die Machbarkeit der Fusionstechnologie demonstrieren und weitere Kenntnisse für den Bau eines kommerziellen Kraftwerks liefern.

Das Programms Kernfusion koordiniert am KIT die Entwicklung der hierfür notwendigen Fusions-Komponenten und Prozesse mit dem Ziel, zukünftig geeignete Technologien für den Bau und Betrieb eines grundlastfähigen Fusionskraftwerks bereitzustellen. Die Arbeiten des KIT-Programms Kernfusion sind im 7. Rahmenprogramms der Europäischen Union eingebunden. Die Ausführung des Rahmenprogramms erfolgt durch "Fusion for Energy“ (European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy) und  "EFDA“(European Fusion Development Agreement).

NEWS

Iter
Testreaktor ITER

ITER ist ein internationales Projekt, das die technische Beherrschbarkeit des Sonnenfeuers aufzeigen soll (Bild Copyright ITER).
News zum Bau